Robert Ivy Honored With Prestigious Polk Award

The Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award presented by the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters (MIAL) is being awarded to The American Institute of Architects (AIA) EVP and Chief Executive Officer Robert Ivy.

Ivy’s distinguished honor is the first time that an architect has been the recipient of the Polk Award. The prestigious award, first presented in 1980, recognizes the state of Mississippi’s distinguished artists, writers, and musicians. In addition to his position as CEO of AIA, Ivy is also an esteemed author, editor, and current practicing architect.

As author of the biography, “Fay Jones: Architect”, Ivy was able to demonstrate his extensive knowledge of the apprentice to American architect and designer Frank Lloyd Wright. Originally published in 2001, the book is now circulating in its third edition and is one of the most well-regarded books in the industry. Ivy holds an undergraduate degree from Sewanee: The University of the South, as well as a Masters of Architecture from Tulane University. Upon graduating, Ivy proudly served his country as an officer in the U.S. Navy.

Read more: Robert Ivy Receives Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award

Ivy’s previous honors include the 2009 Crain Award presented by American Business Media, recognizing his lifetime contributions to editorial excellence in the field of business media. In 2010, Ivy was also presented with the “Master Architect” award by the national architecture fraternity Alpha Rho Chi. Ivy is the only architect to have received this nationally-acclaimed award in the 21st century. Most recently, Ivy was presented with the notable Dean’s Medal from the University of Arkansas Fay Jones School of Architecture, recognizing his contributions to the field.

In addition to Ivy, the MIAL is also presenting stained-glass designer Andrew Cary Young, President of Pearl River Glass Studio, with the Polk Lifetime Achievement Award. Past notable winners of the award include writer Eudora Welty (2001), actor Morgan Freeman (2007), and writer Shelby Foote (2004). An awards banquet will be held on June 2 at Two Mississippi Museums in Jackson, MS to recognize and celebrate all of the winners.

Find more about Robert Ivy: